When a plan works



EF24-105 L IS USM, originally uploaded by ken.udle.

Some months ago I came up with a plan the goal of which is to upgrade my photographic gear to what I imagine would be an ideal kit within 3 years. My first step of course was to decide on what would be in that kit. Here’s what I came up with:

* 24-105 everyday telephoto
* 16-40mm wide angle
* 70-200 longer telephoto
* 50 mm portrait (got it)
* 100 Macro (got it)
* 1.4x and or 2x teleconverters
* better quality polarizer (got it)
* Sing Ray Graduated ND filters
* Full frame camera body (probably 5D MkII)

That list represents a bit of change but by putting a little aside from each pay, bringing a lunch to work rather than buying expensive sandwiches, it should be achievable.

Today I completed the first major purchase. The 24-105 L IS USM, and slightly ahead of schedule at that. The lens gets excellent reviews, and more importantly my brother is very happy with his. I’ll put it through its paces tomorrow and on the weekend. I have high hopes, I’ll be honest though that I’m a bit worried it isn’t wide enough. I’m shooting with and XSi so the 24 is really a 38mm . Hopefully it won’t be too much of a problem. I have my 18-55 kit lens to fall back on for the wide shots for now.

The next step, however, is a real wide-angle L class lens.

Leave a comment